Chicago

In response to The Daily Post’s writing prompt: “Fight or Flight.”

My great aunt and uncle took my brother and I to Chicago so of course we had to go to Willis Tower. Now I am terrified of heights, but I thought ‘Oh it’ll be fine nothing could go wrong’. So we got the tour of below and watched the video. They then led us to the elevator where they took you to the 103 floor. 103 floors up stuck in my head. That’s a long ways up from my beloved ground. But hey I was in an elevator, nothing could go wrong.

We got to the 103 floor and I was doing pretty good. I wasn’t shaking or I didn’t feel as if I was going to throw up. That was when my brother decided we HAD to go to the skydeck. If you don’t know what this is, it is a glass box that comes out of the building so when you look down you see the streets of Chicago. So you could imagine I was a little nervous. The shakes started to form, but I got them to calm down by saying to myself ‘look at all those other people on it, I’ll be fine’.

I stepped two feet on it and got right back off. My stomach flipped over and my body felt dumb but shaky at the same time. I couldn’t get back on it, and I felt really dumb. It is safe, but my height phobia just wouldn’t let me.

Leave a Reply

