The Comma

In response to The Daily Post’s writing prompt: “Imitation/Flattery.”

I didn’t want to blog about today’s post so I’m doing one from awhile ago. It was about the use of punctuation. I never use a comma. Like I know where to put them, but I usually never do. See I just added one there. I like to write long sentences so me not adding commas makes them run-ons. I don’t know why I don’t use them more, but I just don’t.

When I was younger I had an obsession with an explanation mark. When I say obsessed, I mean like every other sentence I used one. I thought it was the coolest thing ever, and it made my writing better. I soon found out that it really didn’t make it better, and that it actually made it worse. I slowly had to stop using them so often and now I rarely use them at all.

I am also one of those people who avoids using a semi-colon. I always forget and doubt myself if I put it in the right place and so then I end the sentence and start a new one. If anyone could help me out with a trick on how to use these that would be great.

One thought on “The Comma

  1. Semi-colons are easy to use. You can use them to separate two independent clauses if you don’t want to use a period or a comma and coordinator. You might want to do this when the clauses are related to each other. Here is an example: two sentences. “He was a handsome guy. She noticed that right away” or one sentence with a coordinator and a comma, “He was a handsome guy, and she noticed that right away,” or you can use a semi-colon: “He was a handsome guy; she noticed that right away.” The use of different punctuation changes the meaning a little bit. It all depends on what you want your reader to get, feel, understand from what you’ve written.

Leave a Reply

