Service Trip

Yesterday my class traveled to Omaha for our service trip. We usually go to homeless shelters, Habitat for Humanity, or other places that need help. My group went to Lydia’s House which is a homeless shelter. There are buildings that the people stay in that were built from all donations, and they were really nice buildings. They said that they house around 1100 total. The place there we worked though was Open Door Mission. This place is kind of like a Good Will but all the clothes are free. The person can come back every 30 days to get new things. What I did was hand people food that we had packaged. I can say that some of the things I wouldn’t eat, but they didn’t care. It really made me realize how fortunate I am to be able to go to the grocery store and buy food that I really like. They don’t have that option. For lunch, we got to go to their cafeteria with our sack lunches and got to talk to some of the people there. My table didn’t really talk to me, but my friends tables were really talkative and they learned a lot about them.

The other thing we did was go through the place and grab any clothes on the floor and rehang them, and we also grabbed the empty hangers and put them on the racks in the back. Next we brought clothes from the back and put them out on the shelves. Finally, My group restocked the shoe shelves. We went through 3 big crates of shoes and filled the shelves. The guy in charge said that what we just refilled will be gone by the end of the night. That just blew my mind.

All in all, it was a very eye-opening trip. I’m going to think twice about the things I complain about.

Leave a Reply

