Living in the Shadow

As a person with 3 older brothers and one younger, I know what it’s like to live in the shadow. Two of my older brothers were athletic and fit. I had to try and live up to that. The other one was a very talented singer (still is) and is very intelligent. I had to try and match all of those qualities while still trying to stay true to my own talents. That is a lot to put on a middle school kid going into high school. Even when I thought I was close to coming out of their shadow, it either turned out to be not good enough or my younger brother would come up and out shine me. My younger brother is fit and can sing not as good but close enough to one of my older brothers.

At first, this all was devastating to me. I was trying to fit the mold of people who I really wasn’t and ended up in their shadow. I had to change. When I went off to college, I became the person I wanted to be. I didn’t have those expectations to live up to. No one knew me so I had a chance to be the person I wanted to be. Honestly, coming out of someone’s shadow is the best thing in the world. You feel free.

https://dailypost.wordpress.com/prompts/shadow/Β 

 

Leave a Reply

